Google Stopped Blogging with WordPress after I Post about it


Few month back I’ve noticed and revealed that as a rare exception Google using WordPress for blogging on Wildfire (one of its services). Only few weeks after I published the story on my blog, Google stopped using WordPress for Wildfire and switched from WordPress to Blogspot (Blogger).

The story began when I was researching to write a post about most successful CEOs who use WordPress to power their corporate’s sites and blogs and then I published Even The World’s Sexiest CEOs Love WordPress on 2013/19/04. One of the CEOs that I introduced, is Victoria Ransom CEO of Wildfire (by Google).

I was Surprised that a Google service is using WordPress even though Wildfire was not created by Google but Google had acquired in middle of 2012 about a year before I write my post highlighting Wildfire is using WordPress. After publishing the CEOs post I thought the fact that Google is using WordPress, worth to be published in a dedicated post; therefore I Wrote Finally Google Used WordPress for Blogging on 2013/19/04. By the time I wrote the second post mentioning Google is using WordPress the Wildfire blog was hosted on “blog.wildfireapp.com” and it was looking like the below image:

Wildfire Social Media Marketing Blog
The Screen Shot of Blog.Wildfireapp.com on 30th April 2013 As it also
reachable via Web.Archive.org

Both stories have been re-shared tens on times on different social networks, Most probably big guys in the Big G heard the story and did not like it, Today I noticed the change when I was looking for something in Wildfire Blog. They’ve switched from their original and slick WordPress blog to a minimal Blogger theme. I’ve checked the “Web Archive” the below images shows the switching happened on Sep. 19, 2013.

Wildfire wordpress blogspot

Internet Archive or Way Back Machine shows a switching from WordPress to Blogspot along with a URL redirect from blog.wildfire.com to wildfireapp.blogspot.com, Source: http://bit.ly/16ZZFi9

I’m curious why Google hasn’t claim a mention at Guinness World Records when it might be the first time in the history of World Wide Web that someone  switched from WordPress to Blogger.

Honestly, I was hopeful after reading my posts the other guys in Google take the chance and upgrade all their blogs to WordPress, yet I guess I wouldn’t publish the story if I knew Google will react by forcing Wildfire team to use Blogger, because I’m sure now all the guys in Wildfire team who can’t enjoy blogging with WordPress will put a blame on me for publicizing the story.

One thought on “Google Stopped Blogging with WordPress after I Post about it

  1. Reblogged this on Somia Links and commented:
    Few month back I’ve noticed and revealed that as a rare exception Google using WordPress for blogging on Wildfire (one of its services). Only few weeks after I published the story on my blog, Google stopped using WordPress for Wildfire and switched from WordPress to Blogspot (Blogger).

Leave a Reply

